Marietta: First Settlement in the Northwest Territory

As a result of the Revolutionary War, the Treaty of Paris (1783) had granted the United States the Northwest Territory which made up what is today Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, Wisconsin, and parts of Minnesota. The American land was expanding westward and so were the people. Eager for adventure and virgin land, 48 men led my Rufus Putnam left Ipswich, Massachusetts in search for beautiful new land to build a community. In their canoes, the men traveled down the Ohio River towards Fort Harmar, the final destination located at the confluence of the Ohio and Muskingum River.  The Congress of the Confederation had sanctioned the establishment of a local government in the new territory. The settlers named the area Marietta after Marie Antoinette, Queen of France, who had helped the colonies gain their independence from Great Britain. On April 7, 1988, Marietta became the first permanent settlement in the Northwest Territory. Not only did this event signify the founding of Ohio, but it led to the expansion of the Northwest Territory and ultimately that path to the Pacific.



Northwest Territory

Source via Ohio Historical Society

No Responses