Ohio’s Sweet Sixteen

March is a great time for sports fans. The final spots of the NHL and NBA playoffs are being clinched, baseball spring training is underway, and of course NCAA March Madness. Ohioans are never short of collegiate teams to follow. Ohio State, Xavier, Dayton, Cincinnati, and Ohio University often all find themselves with a tournament bid. In 2012, Ohio made sports history as the first state to have 4 schools in NCAA’s “Sweet Sixteen”. Ohio State (2 seed), University of Cincinnati (6 seed), Xavier (10 seed), and Ohio University (13 seed) all clinched the round of 16.

In 2015, Ohio kept their presence known by having the most schools (4) advance to the round of 32 (Ohio State, Xavier, Dayton, and Cincinnati). When Xavier advanced to the Sweet Sixteen in 2015, Ohio prolonged their record for the state with the longest streak with a school in the Sweet Sixteen. Currently, Ohio has had a school in the Sweet Sixteen since 2007! To add to this, Xavier University is tied with Michigan State for the longest streak for the school with the most consecutive Sweet Sixteen appearances (3- 2008, 2009, 2010).




Photo via: The Dispatch