Only Two-Time Heisman Trophy Winner

It’s difficult to win the Heisman Trophy. Ohio State’s Archie Griffin not only won the prestigious award once, but twice. ┬áHe is the only college football player to accomplish this feat since the honor was established in 1935. Griffin won the Heisman during his Junior (74′) and Senior (75′) seasons.

Archie grew up in the South Linden neighborhood of Columbus. He attended Eastmoor High School where he led Eastmoor to a Columbus City League title. Later, Griffin attended the Ohio State University from 1972 to 1975 where he played under head coach, Woody Hayes. He led the Big 10 in rushing three straight years and is one of two players to start in four separate Rose Bowl games. When his college career was over, Griffin had won the Big 10 MVP twice, awarded the Walter Camp award twice, and the Heisman Trophy twice. He also has the most career rushing yards in Ohio State history (5,589).


After college, Griffin was drafted by the Cincinnati Bengals and played 7 seasons in the NFL. When his football days were over he returned to OSU to receive an MBA. He is currently the President and CEO of the Ohio State University Alumni Association and spokesman for the Wendy’s High School Heisman award. He is also a part owner of the Dayton Dragons, the Cincinnati Reds Single-A affiliate.

No Responses